Watch CBC’s live coverage of Winnipeg election results


Polling stations in Winnipeg are about to close — and people in Manitoba’s biggest city will soon find out who their next mayor will be.

The city is choosing its first new leader since 2014, when incumbent two-term Mayor Brian Bowman was first elected. Bowman announced in 2020 he would not run again.

After a long campaign period with a crowded pool of candidates vying for the spot, one is about to come out on top.

Results will start coming in after polls close at 8 p.m. CT.

The first candidate to step up for the top seat came six months after Bowman’s announcement. In the past six months, 10 more registered.

Those candidates are Idris Adelakun, Rana Bokhari, Chris Clacio, Scott Gillingham, Kevin Klein, Shaun Loney, Jenny Motkaluk, Glen Murray, Robert-Falcon Ouellette, Rick Shone and Don Woodstock.

Vote counting will begin as soon as polls close. Ballots cast in advance will be counted first, followed by votes cast today, said senior election official and city clerk Marc Lemoine.

First results are expected between 8:15 and 8:30 p.m., while the bulk of the results are expected by around 9:15 p.m., Lemoine said. Full results should be in by around 9:45 p.m.

Winnipeg is also electing councillors in 13 of its 15 electoral wards after a four-month campaign period — and the city is guaranteed to see at least two new councillors.

The Charleswood-Tuxedo-Westwood and St. James wards will send new faces to city hall, since their incumbents (Klein and Gillingham, respectively) are running for mayor.

Two incumbents are guaranteed to keep their seats: Couns. Devi Sharma in Old Kildonan and Markus Chambers in St. Norbert-Seine River were both acclaimed after no one ran against them.

The other wards electing councillors are Daniel McIntyre, Elmwood-East Kildonan, Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry, Mynarski, North Kildonan, Point Douglas, River Heights-Fort Garry, St. Boniface, St. Vital, Transcona and Waverley West.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More